Keep Yourself Updated

Lots going on in the news lately. Make it easy on yourself and check out some of the links that I found interesting.

  • Florida girl who was threatened with expulsion over hair has returned to school. And I’m happy to say, with no changes to her hair.

ku-xlarge (4)

12-year-old Vanessa VanDyke, who attends the private school Faith Christian Academy in Orlando, Florida, was told to cut her hair or face expulsion.
VanDyke on her hair:

“It says that I’m unique…First of all it’s puffy and I like it that way. I know people will tease me about it because it’s not straight. I don’t fit in.”

The family of VanDyke attempted to report the teasing from fellow students and that is when they were faced with the ultimatum.

According to the dress code from the student handbook, “Hair must be a natural color and must not be a distraction.” Apparently in this case, being different equates to being a distraction or unnatural.

  • Actress Maria Bello comes out and writes a pretty interesting piece on how she explained it to her son as well as how she defines relationships and partnerships.

 

 

Maria-Bello-in-The-Cooler-1024x680

A snippet from her article:

It’s hard for me even to define the term “partner.” For five years I considered my partner to be a friend then in his 70s, John Calley, with whom I talked daily. He was the one who picked me up each time I had a breakdown about another failed romance. Because we were platonic, did that make him any less of a partner?

And I have never understood the distinction of “primary” partner. Does that imply we have secondary and tertiary partners, too? Can my primary partner be my sister or child or best friend, or does it have to be someone I am having sex with? I have two friends who are sisters who have lived together for 15 years and raised a daughter. Are they not partners because they don’t have sex? And many married couples I know haven’t had sex for years. Are they any less partners?

My feelings for Clare aren’t the same as the butterflies-in-the-stomach, angst-ridden love I have felt before; they are much deeper than that. As we grew closer, my desire for her grew stronger until, after a few months, I decided to share the truth of our relationship with my large, Italian-Polish, “traditional” Philadelphia family.

  • Human Rights Watch reports on the abduction of women and girls, use of children as young as 12-years-old in hostilities and the killings of hundreds of people in Nigeria.

Residents watch as two men walk amidst rubble after Boko Haram militants raided the town of Benisheik

The government has failed to account for any of these travesties done by the Boko Haram‘s four-year insurgency.

“For a group that claims to be religious, Boko Haram’s tactics are the most profane acts we can imagine,” said Daniel Bekele, Africa director at Human Rights Watch. “The killing and mutilation of ordinary Nigerians, the abduction and rape of women and girls, and the use of children for fighting are horrifying human rights violations.”

Those are just three articles that I found interesting. What have you heard in the news that you find worth sharing?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Samantha In Transit

Where to next?

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

localkitchen.wordpress.com/

Local cooking and eating in New York's Hudson Valley.

Soul Sincerity

Heartfelt Reflection For A Beautiful Life

A WILD VEGAN ADVENTURE .

It includes topics such as vegan lifestyle, animal protection, recipes, books, videos and others. // “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” ~ Gandhi

Natural Fuel

Healthy plant based organic vegan recipes, natural chemical free beauty & skincare, holistic health, yoga, running and nature. Dublin, Ireland.

Laughing Womyn Ashonosheni

Wisdoms from a Shaman

Yoga With Maheshwari

If you like what you read here follow my blog and share it with others!

it's raining flamingos & foxes

Your travel guide to Stockholm, Berlin & Reykjavik

Katie Silcox

Tantra and Ayurveda

Martyr Mouth

Because you deserve to be heard

Creava's .... Blickwinkel

Kreativ zu sein ist mein Hobby...

