Hello, Real World! I am now a graduate!

What do I do now?

As of yesterday, I am a college graduate. This is a very exciting moment in my life, because now I can see how four years of hard work have paid off. But the panic has also set in.

I’ve been looking into the job market and I can honestly say that it looks dismal at best. It seems as though every job requires five to ten years of experience.

Wage gap at its “least damaging”

I wanted to see where in the United States I could apply that would have the smallest wage gap as possible. There were many sites that showed up, but for this post, I will be focusing on the one I found here at Daily Finance.

According to the list, the top ten include only four states: Texas, California, Nevada (Las Vegas only) and Florida.

Among the cities listed, the women’s pay percentage of men’s is, at its highest, 94 percent and, at its lowest, 84 percent. While this is much better than most other cities, it is still aggravating that it isn’t 100 percent equal.

Also, the states chosen are not my ideal because: The California cities include Los Angeles and Fresno, which end up being extremely expensive to live in and Texas has a less than ideal political system.

Keep applying to as many positions as possible

I’ve been told by everyone to keep my head up and that something will eventually come up. I do believe that and I hope that the job is applicable to my major and has a good atmosphere.

 

If only being a professional feminist was possible.

What did you do as a graduate?

What did you do when you first entered the job market? Is there any advice that you can give a recent graduate?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Hello, Real World! I am now a graduate!

  1. What a terrific and honest post. What you are going through is all too common. I like the top 10 cities you are focusing on. I would say Nevada is a great place to live. It has been very good to me since I moved here 10 years ago. Are you living in Germany now? I remember feeling the same way when I finished college. The world had all kinds of advice for me. Volunteer, get an internship, focus on the company you want to work for, but you need real world experience. My best advice is to really focus on your passions and the rest will follow. It was true for me. But you have to start somewhere. Don’t expect to start at the top. You see more advice on my blog at http://christinecasey.wordpress.com/

  2. Thanks for the great advice. Thanks your putting a link to your blog as well. I will be sure to take a look at it.

    To answer your question, I am back in Minnesota at the moment. I am planning on making my way back to Germany when I can find a good job there.

Leave a Reply

Samantha In Transit

Where to next?

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

The Belle Jar

"Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences." - Sylvia Plath

hearts on sleeves club

If you wear your heart on your sleeve, join the club.

localkitchen.wordpress.com/

Local cooking and eating in New York's Hudson Valley.

Soul Sincerity

Heartfelt Reflection For A Beautiful Life

A WILD VEGAN ADVENTURE .

It includes topics such as vegan lifestyle, animal protection, recipes, books, videos and others. // “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” ~ Gandhi

Natural Fuel

Healthy plant based organic vegan recipes, natural chemical free beauty & skincare, holistic health, yoga, running and nature. Dublin, Ireland.

Laughing Womyn Ashonosheni

Wisdoms from a Shaman

Yoga With Maheshwari

If you like what you read here follow my blog and share it with others!

it's raining flamingos & foxes

Your travel guide to Stockholm, Berlin & Reykjavik

Katie Silcox

Tantra and Ayurveda

Martyr Mouth

Because you deserve to be heard

Creava's .... Blickwinkel

Kreativ zu sein ist mein Hobby...

